spicy hermit cookies

Spicy Hermit Cookies - Let the holiday baking begin!

Though the busy work schedule continues I am well aware that time is marching on – before I know it the holiday season will be in full swing!  I have managed to finish most of my decorating already – now it is time to turn my attention to holiday baking. This year will be my first ‘grain free’ Christmas and should be lots of fun!

I’m going to do my best to re-create as many of ‘Mom’s’ Christmas recipes in grain free form. I intend the crown jewel to be a traditional Christmas pudding (wish me luck), but first I will try my hand at various cookie and bar recipes.

One of my favourite cookies growing up was the Spicy Hermit cookie. As the name suggests these cookies are full of yummy spices. This particular recipe also has small pieces of apple, as well as more traditional raisins.

As these were baking and the scent of spices filled the air, childhood memories came flooding back. At first bit I knew I had been successful at recreating a grain free version of a Christmas favourite.

Continue reading Spicy Hermit Cookies

